Home TOP STORIES Two MLAs withdraw support to Kumaraswamy in Karnataka

Two MLAs withdraw support to Kumaraswamy in Karnataka


In a setback to the Kumaraswamy government  two independent MLAs have revoked their support from Congress-JDS coalition.  The independent MLAs extended their support to the coalition in May last year to help Kumaraswamy form the government.

The two MLAs, R Shankar from Ranebennur and H Nagesh from Mulbagal, dashed off letters to the governor to this effect.  Today they  released letters to the media. They said they were not unhappy with the coalition government and it was the reason for the withdrawal of the support.

However, there is no immediate threat to the survival of the  Congress- JDS coalition.  In the 224 member Assembly  Congress has  80 MLAs. The JDS with 37  enjoys a clear majority their combined strength more than the halfway mark is 113.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here