Home English YCP MPs to Resign on April 6

YCP MPs to Resign on April 6


Stealing thunder from Telugu Desam Party,which has  stalled  the parliament for 10 days demanding more funds, YCP supremo YS Jaganmohan Reddy today issued  ultimatum to the centre on according special category status to Andhra Pradesh. He said his MPs would resign from Parliament  on April 6, 2018 if centre fails accede to the demand. YCP is the lone party from the state that has been fighting for the  special category status. Though Congress is also for the same demand, the  party has no representation either in Lok Sabha or in Assembly.

” YCP MPs will continue their agitation for achieving special category status. The parliament will meet after recess on March 5 and continue to sit  till April 6. If there  is no response before April 6, YCP MP will resign from the parliament,” Jagan said  addressing a public meeting at Kaligiri in Nellore district.

The announcement is seen as a move to checkmate Telugu Desam which is on belligerent mood with centre on meager allocations  made to state in Budget 2018. TDP MPs have stalled the proceedings and chief minister Naidu asked them to continue their agitation till centre responds.

Terming the TDP agitation is a drama, Jagan said on March 3 all the MPs would join him in Prajasankalpa Yatra and he would flag off their march to Delhi.

On March 5 they stage a dharna in parliament and submit their resignation on April 6,the last day of the parliament, if a statement on the special category is not made on the floor of the House, he said.